​At the Evelyn K. Davis Center for Working Families, we're helping families and individuals improve their financial position and connecting them with their work and career goals.

From its location in the heart of Des Moines, Iowa, the state's capital city, the Evelyn K. Davis Center is helping many Central Iowans build their educational and job dreams. This first-of-its-kind center is a beacon for those looking for educational, job training and career opportunities by delivering these workforce services. We're preparing many Central Iowans to find their life's calling as successful, working Iowans. View our annual Community Report

The Center is a partnership between the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines, United Way of Central Iowa and Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC). Along with a grocery store located in the same building complex, the partnership is providing solutions to three crucial needs identified by local residents: workforce training, employment opportunities and grocery and retail services.​


Our Services

Education and EmploymentEducation and Employment

Job research, resume writing, hiring days, employment readiness programs such as WTA, YouthBuild, and PREP

Income and work supportsIncome and Work Supports

Social services, connection to housing and transportation, substance abuse referrals, reentry support

Financial services and asset buildingFinancial Services and Asset Building

One-on-one financial coaching, financial education workshops, credit counseling, home buying


Who was Evelyn K. Davis?

Evelyn K. Davis supported working families in Des Moines by providing affordable childcare for 23 years. She was an advocate for families, connecting with city and political leaders to encourage access to jobs and education. It is our hope that hte Evelyn K. Davis Center embodies her spirit, as well as her action.


Read more about Evelyn K. Davis 

 

 

 

Evelyn K. Davis with the children 

Our Director

Marvin DeJear

Marvin DeJear
515.697.1476
mdejear@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Our Staff

Amber Alli
Amber Alli
Marketing & Media Relations Specialist
515.697.1453
aalli@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Angie Arthur
Angie Arthur
Central Iowa Workforce Development Board
515.697.7714
aarthur@centraliowawib.com

Fernando Aveiga
Fernando Aveiga
Asset Development Associate
515.697.1478
ffaveigaalcivar@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Leonard Bell
Lenny Bell
YouthBuild/Summer Youth Experience Program Coordinator
515.697.7768
Llbell3@dmacc.edu

Helen Bothwell
Helen Bothwell
NCRC Test Proctor
hlbothwell@dmacc.edu

 

Jon Douglas
John Douglas
SAAF Program Coordinator/ REACH Career Coach
jrdouglas3@dmacc.edu

 

 

Michael Driscoll
Michael Driscoll
Front Desk
515.697.7700
mtdriscoll@dmacc.edu

Joy Esposito
Joy Esposito
Community Resource & Outreach Specialist – Living Well Together
515.697.7736
jnesposito@dmacc.edu

Canesha Funderburke
Canesha Funderburke
Financial Education Associate
515.697.1484
Canesha.funderburke@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Pamela Gaddy
Pamela Gaddy
Workforce Training Academy Specialist
515.697.7715
pmgaddy@dmacc.edu


Benjamin Bell
Fatherhood Education Facilitator
bcbell648@gmail.com

Dwight Jackson
Dwight Jackson
Community & Business Relations Specialist
515.697.7728
Dajackson7@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Charlene Johnson
Charlene Johnson
Front Desk
515.697.7700
Csjohnson6@dmacc.edu

 

 

Talmadge Keown
Talmadge Keown
Digital & Social Services Specialist
515.697.1454
tnkeown@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Rachelle Long
Rachelle Long
Community & Business Relations Specialist
515.697.7728
Rlong11@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Cheryl McCracken
Cheryl McCracken
Workforce Training Academy – Administrative Assistant
515.697.7713
Camccracken1@dmacc.edu

Keith Meeks
Keith​ Meeks
Fatherhood Education Facilitator
dwpdsm@gmail.com

Melody Riley
Melody Riley
Administrative Assistant II
515.697.7700
Mariley33@dmacc.edu

Clair Rudison
Clair Rudison
Job Navigator/REACH Career Coach
515.697.7705
cerudison@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Lisa Saffell
Lisa Saffell
Administrative Assistant III
515.697.7701
ljsaffell@dmacc.edu

 

 

Jason Vang
Jason Vang
REACH Career Coach/Program & Resource Specialist
515.697.1459
Jcvang1@dmacc.edu

Abby Wollner
Abby Wolner
Volunteer & Education Coordinator
515.697.1450
Abby.wolner@dmacc.edu

Charles Zanders
Charles Zanders
REACH Career Coach
515.697.1475
Cwzanders1@dmacc.edu

Not Pictured

Mary Chapman
Vice President – Emeritus/DMACC Ambassador
515.249.3827
mlchapman@dmacc.edu

Deidre DeJear
Program Coordinator – Financial Capability Network
918.260.4264
dodejear@evelynkdaviscenter.org

Andrea Jensen
Workforce Training Academy Pathway Specialist
515.697.1485
aljensen5@dmacc.edu

Cliff Kessler
YouthBuild Program Manager
515.697.7709
cfkessler@dmacc.edu

Kay Maher
Workforce Training Academy Specialist
515.697.7710
klmaher@damcc.edu